(annoying) auto refresh feature

Zhou X.B.Zhou X.B. Indonesia
edited 3:38AM in FastReport 4.0
Hi everybody,

I am new to Fastreports, previously I was using Crystal Reports w/ Delphi 7 to develop application. Recently my componay upgrade to Delphi XE2 which comes w/ Fastreports. I found Fastreports is really fast. But I have some problems because I don't understand Fastreports well, yet.

My application is a VCL & MDI application, all reports are previewed in modeless windows. I use some ad hoc TClientDataSets to query database server, then connect reports to these TClientDataSets. Previously with Crystal Reports, I can do things like this:
- run query to get data for date Jan/01 - Jan/15, pass the TClientDataSets to preview module and show preview window
- repeat the same for Jan/16 - Jan/31
- I get two preview windows, first w/ data for Jan/01 - Jan/15, second for Jan/16 - Jan/31

I try the same with Fastreports which is obviously faster than Crystal Reports in showing preview window. But, I got two preview windows w/ same information, both showing data for Jan/16 - Jan/31 which is the results from the second (last) query.

I think this is because of auto-refresh feature of Fastreports, both of the preview windows reflect current data seamlessly, actually this is not needed by my application. I wonder whether there is an option to switch off this auto-refresh feature. Thanks for any reply.

Regards,
Zhou X.B.

Comments

• edited 3:38AM
    Hi,

I think you need two instances of TfrxReport to do this.

Best Regards,
    Cristian Peţa
    Zhou X.B. wrote: »
    But, I got two preview windows w/ same information, both showing data for Jan/16 - Jan/31 which is the results from the second (last) query.
    Zhou X.B.

I try to understand your concept of those two preview windows.

A.
    Does your end user need to see them both at the same time (like cascade or tile)?