Dynamic variables in Reports

edited 5:46AM in FastReport 4.0
Hi

I am fairly new to fast reports. Currently I am using Delphi XE2.

The problem I am having is that I am trying to create a report that will display the dates that I have selected on my form in the header of my report. The format of the dates needs to be 'dd/MM/yyyy'.

I have looked through the Programmers Manual and the User's Manual and none can provide me with the answers.

I have opened the frxReport1 component and then under Report->Variables, I have created a category 'Dates' and then 2 variables 'StartDate' and 'EndDate'. Then back in my main form I assigned values to them like so:
frxReport1.Variables := startdate_dtp.Date;
frxReport1.Variables := enddate_dtp.Date;

I have also tried passing it like so:
frxReport1.Variables := startdate_dtp.Text;
frxReport1.Variables := enddate_dtp.Text;

But when I run my report, with the .Date function it just displays an Interger value, and with the .Text function it display a Decimal value.

How do I get the report to display these dates correctly, as there are many other different types of values (Strings, Integers) that I am going to need to pass to other reports in the future as well.

Thanks

GavinC

Comments

• fcsfcs
    edited 5:46AM
    Hello,

Try to use:

{$H+}
    procedure TForm1.FReport123_GetValue(const VarName: string; var Value: Variant);
    begin
    if VarName='StartDate' then Value:=startdate_dtp.Text;
    if VarName='EndDate' then Value:=enddate_dtp.Text;
    end;
    {H-}

The H+/- are optional, I use short strings and I have to enable huge strings for these procedure.
    The GetValue function is an event in FastReport report.

Regards
    Michal
  • gordkgordk St.Catherines On. Canada.
    You can pass the value the way you are trying with out using the ongetvalue event.
    first look at the type of the value in your form is it a tdatetime value or a formated date string