FastReport VCL Standard Dataset problem

Hello,

The situation is the following:

We have an existing report made using FastReport VCL Standard. The report is dynamic and created purely with code i.e. there is no .fr3 file to view or edit. For some reason the report has started to cause Access Violation errors and we have found out that the source of the error is frxEngine and since we do not have the source code for that we cannot see the root cause.

We are now coming to conclusion that we should build the report layout using the report designer and create a dedicated .fr3 file for it. The data for the report is composed by a quite complex Sql query and then stored in a temporary dataset called mdReportData (TdxMemData) in a process that is run before creating the report. I am new to FastReports and a bit lost on how to proceed from here. I created a corresponding dsReportData (TfrxDBDataset), selected it as the datasource in the report designer and can select and drop the data fields into the report. However, when I run the report there is no data. dsReportData.DataSet.Active is set to TRUE. Should I use some other dataset component?

What is it that I am missing? Could you provide some sample code of a similar case. Do I have to code events for the dsReportData dataset, like OnCheckEOF, OnFirst, OnNext etc. or should they be created automagically?

This is a critical bug for us and should be resolved urgently. Therefore I would appreciate your help and assistance in finding a solution to it.

Comments

• PolomintPolomint Australia

G'day,

Would it be possible to post a "redacted" version of your Report Code here, so those of us with access to Source 😉 can check out why it is failing. Not sure if that is easy to do, but you might gain some insight yourself / yourselves...

Cheers, Paul

• Good day,

Thank you for your message. As I said, I am an absolute beginner with FastReport, but not to new to creating reports.