Two reports into one Preview FR FMX

I would like to use 2 similar frxReports to load their results into the same frxPreview component and then print them using frxPreview.Print.

When I try this, only the contents of the second report is in the Preview even though I pass in False for the ClearLastReport parameter.

Is there a way to put the contents of 2 different reports into one Preview?

Comments

• Use

frxReport1.Preview := nil;

frxReport1.PrepareReport(True);

frxReport1.PrepareReport(False);

frxReport1.Preview := frxPreview1;

frxReport1.ShowPreparedReport;

• Thank you. I am studying your suggestion.

I see no reference to a second frxReport, such as frxReport2. Should the second PrepareReport line be the following?

frxReport2.PrepareReport(False);

If so, should there also be the following line?

rxReport2.Preview := frxPreview1;

If that is correct, then the sequence would be this?

frxReport1.PrepareReport(True);

frxReport2.PrepareReport(False);

frxReport2.Preview := frxPreview1;

frxReport1.ShowPreparedReport;

• My modified scheme would also need this line at the top:

frxReport2.Preview := nil;

• G'day Mike,

I haven't tested your solution, but would caution you to check this for memory leaks. Those "Preview := nil" statements worry me 😳

Cheers, Paul

• edited December 2020

Thanks. I have seen some info in the docs that says there are situations in which FR is somehow handling the memory, and I've run the code I listed and got no leaks.

Unfortunately, using the code still doesn't avoid the problem of only the contents of the 2nd report being present in the Preview.