Dividing values in Report

Alex_de_KockAlex_de_Kock Bloemfontein, Free State, South Africa
edited 9:46AM in FastReport 4.0
Hallo

I am not a expert in programming, so please excuse me if i'm asking dumb questions! :-)

I need some assistance with diving 2 values from my database, to get the desired value, but it gives me the following error:

"Invalid floating point operation".

My current expression looks as follows

[<SalesSummary."stk_on_hand">/<SalesSummary."NettSales">]

Please help
Thank you

Comments

• gordkgordk St.Catherines On. Canada.
    edited 9:46AM
    use braces around the fields.
    [((<SalesSummary."stk_on_hand">) / (<SalesSummary."NettSales">))]
  • Alex_de_KockAlex_de_Kock Bloemfontein, Free State, South Africa
    gordk wrote: »
    use braces around the fields.
    [((<SalesSummary."stk_on_hand">) / (<SalesSummary."NettSales">))]

Its still giving the same error. When I replace the divide "/" with "+" or"-", it works fine.

Any advice?
  • edited 9:46AM
    Try to use calculated filed in your query if FR doesn't accept your expression within a MemoView.
    In my example you'll find both ways - a calculated field and an expression inside a MemoView.
    Both with succes >
    SELECT p.*, (cost / onhand) as MyResult                                                                           
      FROM parts p
     where onhand > 0
       and partno < 2000                                                 
     order by partno

Mick
    Thank you all

I sorted the query as follows:

IIF(<SalesSummary."DEPT_CODE"> = '01',(<SalesSummary."stk_on_hand">/<SalesSummary."nettsales">)*4.33,0)

I Think as the error said "Floating point", it was trying to calculate over and over for my 20 different stock departments, as I didn't specify which department to draw information from.

Thus setting the Department as a constant, the query could resolve.